This is Lil’ Cupcake, a chibi fashion doll.  She is three pieces – head, arm and body.  I called her Cupcake because she is a pancake style doll but better, like a cupcake.   🙂

She has such cute lil ears!

She has thumbs, and her knees,elbows and hips are stitched across so she is floppy.  You don’t have to do that though – you could make her so she is stiff legged.  There is an optional stiff bent arm included in the pattern.  Her shoulders are jointed with an internal button joint, like a  poppet.  I think this makes her form more appealing, and easier to design clothing for.

Speaking of clothing – she might be the same size as YoSD sized ball joint dolls, the chunky kind, not the slim.  Unfortunately, I do not have a chunky YoSD… will have to download a pattern or two to see the size difference.

This is her w/o clothes.

The pattern and the instructions are on the patterns page.

I am also working on a boy body and heads with different types of ears!

17 thoughts on “Lil’ Cupcake

  1. Love this little doll, I may try to make one for my little grand daughter. Also liked your commentary on the pattern makers, not making patterns to fit those of us with a booty.

  2. Will definitely have to follow your blog as you are one of the most amazing people I know. I did make a room to house the bunny poppet you sent, and got some stuff to add to it today. ❤ you girl.

    1. I usually make wefts and then glue them to the head – wefts are made by sewing across the middle of a bunch of cut yarns. For the yarns that go near the face, I use bundles – five or ten strands tied in the middle with a piece of yarn, then glued strategically to the head. For her bump, I tied her hair into a low ponytail, and then secured the ponytail in the middle of her head with a sewn piece of yarn. I hope that makes sense.

  3. Super cute doll, really like the form and width and all. Does anyone know of a similar pattern but for boy dolls? I’m planning to make band members 🙂

  4. I love this dolly! I am in the middle of making one right now as a gift for someone. I was hoping you might post the measurement lengths for her and the boy doll please. My legs look super long and when I cut out the arms they were super short compared to this picture , thanks

    1. The legs should be about 5 1/4 inches, if that helps. The straight arms with the elbow seam are about 4. Are you making the doll of a material that stretches? Is the stretch going the same way in the arms and legs?

  5. love your doll, i am going to try it this week end, but struggling with the hair, yours look very pretty with a little red hair pin.
    thanks you so much for sharing something so pretty.

  6. The freezer paper, where can I get it? Is it a crafting supply or “freezer” as in where frozen food goes?

    My mom just got me the materials to make this doll as a birthday present, but I’m not sure where to get the freezer paper. 🙂

Leave a Reply

